Review – Fighting for Flight

Fighting for Flight

By JB Salsbury Published 2/25/13

Rating ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

“What happens when in order to win, you’re forced to lose?”

17167042Synopsis:

The only daughter of an infamous Las Vegas pimp, Raven Morretti grew up an outsider.  Liberated from the neglectful home of her prostitute mother, she finds solace as a mechanic. With few friends, she’s content with the simple life.  Flying under the radar is all she knows, and more than she expects.

Until she catches the eye of local celebrity, UFL playboy Jonah Slade. 

Weeks away from his title fight, Jonah is determined to stay focused on everything he’s trained so hard to achieve.  Undefeated in the octagon, he’s at the height of his career.  But resisting Raven’s effortless allure and uncomplicated nature is a fight he can’t win.

Jonah trades in his bad-boy reputation and puts his heart on the line.  But when her father contacts her, setting in motion the ugly truth of her destiny, Jonah must choose.  In a high-stakes gamble where love and freedom hang in the balance, a war is waged where the price of losing is a fate worse than death.

“My blood roars from the heat of her touch. I need her to understand that her life means more than my own. I’d give it all away : every dream, every accomplishment. Everything for her.”

∞ ∞ ∞

chevy impala

chevy impala

My thoughts:

I was looking for a sports romance this weekend and found the perfect read. Fighting for Flight is the first book from Fighting Series from a debut author and honestly couldn’t tell that this was her first book. I thought it was a perfect balance between the sports, the suspense and the romance. Perfect pick, highly recommend this one.

“You, Raven Morretti, are mine. Doesn’t matter if you’re a virgin or an alien. What you’ve told me changes nothing. Not. One. Thing.”

In the book we meet a beautiful young woman named Raven. She is a twenty year old mechanic working at her high school teacher’s shop and meets Jonah a UFC undefeated champion. Both never being in a serious relationship they immediately fall for each other not knowing that Raven’s estranged father  Dominick has plans for Raven. Scheming Dominick plans to start pimping his own daughter out as soon as she hits her twenty-first birthday. After Jonah finds out he decides to meet with Raven’s father and agrees to throw the fight of his career if Dominick releases Raven from his torment.

3725e1b45c5c3548adff8b2472a3215e

“This whole time I thought I was living. But the day I met you, the lights came on. You fill me with the things I thought I’d never feel again. You’re my angel baby.”

So lets talk about Raven. I absolutely loved her character. For someone who didn’t have a parental figure in her life she grew up to be a strong young woman. Her role as a mechanic was just enticing. Trying to think back, I don’t remember a single heroine in the books that I have read that have a female choosing a manly man’s career. Different indeed! Loved it! She was so innocent and kind, loving and outgoing. And what she ends up doing with her inheritance was just phenomenal.

And Jonah, jeeeeeeez. What a hottie! Despite being the I’ll-beat-the-shit-out-of-you tough guy, he was seriously romantic. When he professes his feeling to Raven, I couldn’t help but sigh in contentment. So swoon worthy! He was willing to give up everything her worked his entire life for just for her. You would never think that I tough guy like that would be able to utter or even think these words. And for him to admit his feeling first was just icing on the cake for me.

3a83452243887b418db27ebe942a934d

“Baby, I promise you that you’ll never want for physical contact again. I’ll always hold you when you’re scared. Comfort you when you’re sad. Take care of you when you’re sick. I’ll make it my life’s mission to make up for every second you were neglected.”

The supporting character especially Blake was terrific too. While most people would find his demeanor insulting I really thought he was funny too. I am really excited to hear his story which is going to be in book 2, Fighting to Forgive. I was hoping that he would end up with Eve because after all Eve’s disastrous relationships she needs her HEA too. Maybe in the future books…. I’m hoping to see that the author mentions Raven and Jonah’s family life as well.

SONY DSC

“You are part of me now. I’d do anything for you. I’ll fight for your life as I’d fight for my own.”

There are a couple of things that I would have changed in this book and that is why I couldn’t rate this a FIVE. Again, I’m not a writer, just my opinion…. first, I would have added more angst to story. Seems to me that Jonah and Raven’s relationship happened way too fast. I would have milked it a little more. Another thing is Eve’s reaction to finding out about Vince’s motives. I would have been more upset and end up blaming Raven for that. I could imagine them having a serious catfight over that. Would have been such a good scene!  I also would have changed who ended Dominick differently, I think Milena should have done the deed. She needed to avenge what was done to her and that would just have made it perfect in my opinion.

blackbirds

blackbirds

∞ ∞ ∞

Casting picks:

For Jonah, I wanted someone athletic of course. Was first thinking Tom Hardy yet again but he was casted in my last review. HA! So I chose this guy. If you don’t know who he is then you suck at pop culture.

This pic is a younger version of him. Jonah was depicted as being 26-year-old if I’m not mistaken.

Desktop-pictures-david-beckham-wallpapers-hd-photos-david-beckham-wallpaper-13

David Beckham as Jonah Slade.

As soon as it was mentioned that Raven was a mechanic…. this picture immediately popped up into my head.

Megan Fox Transformers movie image

Megan Fox.

Leave a Reply

